The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) is an international standard for describing language ability. It is used around the world to describe learners’ language skills.
The CEFR describes foreign language proficiency at six levels: A1 and A2, B1 and B2, C1 and C2. It also defines three ‘plus’ levels (A2+, B1+, B2+).

Language skills:  listening, reading, writing, spoken production (monologue), spoken interactin (conversation).
Attention will be given to grammar and vocabulary as a foundation for the language skills.

Levels of the Common European Framework of Reference:



A1 Beginner Level

a basic command of the language, familiar with everyday expressions and able to make very simple sentences.

A2 Survival Level

familiar with frequently used expressions and able to express oneself in everyday situations.



B1 Threshold Level

can describe experiences, events, dreams and expectations and give his or her own opinion

B2 Operational Level

can understand the main ideas of complex text and can produce clear detailed text. Can spontaneously enter into a conversation.



C1 Advanced Level

able to express oneself fluently and use the language flexibly and efficiently for social, academic and professional purposes.

C2 Native speaker

can understand with ease virtually everything heard or read. Can express him/herself spontaneously, very fluently and precisely, differentiating finer shades of meaning even in the most complex situations.

English crashcourse

Are you up for it?

back home



an educational program of

coming up